Mission & Goals

The NFC Forum aims to bring the convenience of near-field technology to life. We empower organizations to deliver secure, tap-based interactions with an intuitive, reliable experience to users around the globe. Our member-led activities include the development of specifications and test cases, a certification program, and special interest groups that identify and evangelize contactless technology in an ever growing number of industries.

To realize this mission, the goals of the NFC Forum are to:

Develop and publicly publish a rolling three-year use case, liaison, technical, and certification release roadmap.

Educate enterprises, service providers, and developers on how to deploy NFC technology to deliver impactful solutions and grow their businesses.

Emphasize the feature of “user intent” through programs, messaging, marketing, and the rollout of a visual identifier to inform users where to tap for action.

Enable NFC technology to deliver a consistently positive user experience in all NFC product form factors.

Continue to promote the compliance program, develop specifications, test mechanisms, and tools that ensure consistent, secure, and interoperable use cases worldwide.

Deliver increased member value for membership growth and revenue.


Officers and Committee Chairs

While the end work products of the NFC Forum come from a network of dedicated volunteers from our member community, the key leadership of the Forum comes from the Board of Directors along with the Chairs of the Technical and Compliance Committees.

Preeti Ohri Khemani

Infineon Technologies


Michael Stark, Ph.D.

NXP Semiconductors

Vice Chair

Frank Dawidowsky



Yo Tabayashi



Teuvo Järvelä

Huawei Technologies

Technical Committee Chair

Arnaud Schreiner

NXP Semiconductors

Compliance Committee Chair

Mike McCamon

NFC Forum

Executive Director

Board of Directors

Alisher Alikhodjaev


Andrew Davidson


Daniel Orsatti


Dawei Zhang

Apple Inc.

Jerome Legros

NXP Semiconductors

Masayuki Takezawa


Maurizio Skerlj

Infineon Technologies

Xiaofeng Zhang

Huawei Technologies Co, Ltd.

Committee, Working Group, and Task Force Leadership

Amir Khoshniyati


Healthcare Task Force Chair

Andreas Woerle


Analog Working Group Co-Chair

Bruno Carpreau


Retail & Payment Working Group Chair

Daniel Orsatti


Reference Applications Framework Working Group Chair

David Worthington


Mobility, Identity, & Transport Working Group Chair

Erwan Le Fer

National Instruments

Testing Working Group Chair

Klaus Roehrle


NFC Devices Technical Working Group Chair

Michael Stark, Ph.D.

NXP Semiconductors

Digital Working Group Chair, Requirements & Policy Working Group Chair

Mohammed Ratni


Analog Working Group Chair

Rainer Lutz

NXP Semiconductors

Automotive Working Group Chair

Zanghee Cho

NXP Semiconductors

Internet of Things Working Group Chair

Bob Olson

Press & Analyst Relations

Elizabeth Day

Membership Coordinator

Mary Kingsley

Marketing Director

Patti Morin

Liaison Relationships, Events and Conferences

Sten Wendel

Certification Program and Plugfest Inquiries

About the NFC Forum

Since 2004 the NFC Forum has championed contactless technologies and solutions for a wide range of industries. As a member-led organization, the Forum’s mission is to advance the use of Near Field Communication technology by developing specifications, ensuring interoperability among devices and services, and educating the market about NFC technology.

Learn more about the benefits & become a member of the NFC Forum